Close

Archives / Libraries

 

Swiss National Library

Every book, every newspaper and every periodical that has appeared in Switzerland since 1848. Everything published abroad that deals with Switzerland or its people. The complete works of Swiss writers and translators. The National Library collects printed and electronic publications from and about Switzerland, and ensures that they are preserved and remain accessible.
The National Library also incorporates the Swiss Literary Archives, ...

 

Swiss Federal Archives

If you’re looking for documents about Expo 02, the Helvetic Republic or the election of General Guisan in 1939, you’re sure to find them in the Federal Archives! If you want to view documents from the Archives, you should search for them online and order them before visiting:

 

State Archive of Berne

For more than 250 years until 1798, Berne was the biggest territorial state north of the Alps. That size and power are reflected in documents, maps and plans which have survived through careful conservation and favourable circumstances. From precious mediæval documents until the capitulation to the French revolutionary army in 1798, from the two Helvetian cantons of Berne and the Oberland which existed between 1798 and 1803, via the ...

 

Archives of the City of Bern

The oldest manuscript dates from 1146. Legend has it that the City of Bern did not even exist at that time. From those legendary days until the present, all the significant documents of the municipal administration have been preserved in the Archives of the City of Bern. They include printed material, maps, plans, illustrations and photographs. The Archives of the City of Bern were created in 1803 when the Canton and City were legally ...

 

Rathaus Bern

The Rathaus (Town Hall) is the political centre for the Canton and City of Bern. This is where the Cantonal Parliament holds its sessions four times a year and where the Cantonal Government meets each week. The Rathaus is also where the City of Bern’s parliament convenes.
The building is over 600 years old and ...

 

Central Library

Dairy produce was once sold on the ground floor, and wine stored in the cellars. But between 1787 and 1794, the first floor of the Ankenwaag-Kornhaus was transformed into a magnificent library hall by the architects Niklaus Sprüngli and Lorenz Schmid. Thus Switzerland's first non-ecclesiastical library building was erected on Bern's Münstergasse. Over the next two hundred years the premises were extended and adapted several times to ...

Close

Archives / Bibliothèques

 

Bibliothèque nationale suisse

Chaque livre, chaque journal, chaque revue parus en Suisse depuis 1848. Tout ce qui est publié à l'étranger sur la Suisse ou les Suisses. Toutes les œuvres des écrivains et des traducteurs suisses. La Bibliothèque nationale collectionne les publications imprimées et électroniques de et sur la Suisse et veille à les conserver en bon état et à les mettre à disposition du public.

Les Archives littéraires suisses font aussi ...

 

Archives fédérales suisses

Vous êtes à la recherche de documents sur Expo 02, sur la République helvétique ou sur l’élection du général Guisan en 1939 ? Ne cherchez plus ! Aux Archives fédérales suisses (AFS), vous êtes à la bonne adresse ! Pour pouvoir consulter nos documents, vous devez d’abord effectuer une recherche en ligne et passer commande à l’adresse suivante :

 

Archives de l'Etat de Berne

Pendant plus de 250 ans et jusqu’en 1798, Berne était l’Etat-cité le plus important du nord des Alpes. Cette grandeur et cette puissance se retrouvent dans les documents, cartes et plans qui ont pu être préservés jusqu’à nos jours. Des précieuse chartes médiévales à la capitulation devant l’armée révolutionnaire française en 1798, des deux cantons helvétiques Berne et Oberland (1798 – 1803) à lacréation de l’Etat ...

 

Archives de la Ville

L’acte le plus ancien date de 1146, date à laquelle Berne n’existait pas encore. De l’époque de sa fondation à aujourd’hui, les archives de la Ville ont conservé tous les documents administratifs fondateurs de son histoire ainsi que des manuscrits, cartes, plans, illustrations et photographies. Les Archives de la Ville ont été créées en 1803, date de la séparation juridique du canton et de la ville. Les archives centrales ...

 

Bibliothèque universitaire de Berne

Au rez-de-chaussée, on vendait des produits laitiers et dans la cave, on entreposait du vin. Le premier étage de l'Ankenwaag-Kornhaus avait toutefois été transformé en salle d'apparat pour la bibliothèque, de 1787 à 1794, par Niklaus Sprüngli et Lorenz Schmid. C'est ainsi le premier bâtiment non ecclésiastique de Suisse consacré à une bibliothèque qui a vu le jour à la Münstergasse, à Berne. Dans les 200 ans qui ont suivi, le ...

 

Bibliothèque de la Bourgeoisie de Berne

La chronique historique illustrée du Moyen Âge tardif de Diebold Schilling, les écrits d’Albrecht von Haller, de Jeremias Gotthelf et d’Ernst Kreidolf font à eux seuls de la Bibliothèque de la Bourgeoisie une véritable caverne d’Ali Baba de l’histoire et de la culture bernoise. Elle contient également 30 000 documents photographiques sur Berne, des héritages particuliers et des archives familiales. Viennent s’ajouter à ...