Close

Oberhofen on the Lake of Thun: the picture book castle

The romantic castle complex and its keep dated around 1200 looks back onto a history of changing owners several times. The Neuchâtel-Prussian family of counts called de Pourtalès bought the castle in 1884 and altered the complex into a summer residence, giving the castle the look it has today. Since 1954 the museum has been established inside the castle showing the history of its past inhabitants. The Oriental Smoking Room at the top oft he
tower offers a unique experience and spectacular view over the lake and mountains. The castle chapel features impressive murals dated from the 15th century.

The castle gardens belong to the most beautiful gardens of the alpine region. With its impressive groups of ancient trees and gorgeous flower beds this historical garden design offers a haven for peaceful resting and enjoyment.

Visitor information


Opening hours
Opening hours of the castle
May 14 - October 22:
Tue - Sun 11 a.m. - 5 p.m. 

Path along the shore:
March 5 - december 22
Castle park: april 16 - december 22

Current opening hours see www.schlossoberhofen.ch


Admission 

Prices for castle museum
Adults: CHF 10.–/red. tariff: CHF 8.–
children: CHF 2.–


  • Restaurant

  • Shop

  • At landing stage

  • From Thun railway station
    Gunten-Interlaken bus
    to Oberhofen

  • Oberhofen car park

  • Swiss Museum Pass valid