Close

Archives / Libraries

 

Swiss National Library

Every book, every newspaper and every periodical that has appeared in Switzerland since 1848. Everything published abroad that deals with Switzerland or its people. The complete works of Swiss writers and translators. The National Library collects printed and electronic publications from and about Switzerland, and ensures that they are preserved and remain accessible.
The National Library also incorporates the Swiss Literary Archives, ...

 

Swiss Federal Archives

If you’re looking for documents about Expo 02, the Helvetic Republic or the election of General Guisan in 1939, you’re sure to find them in the Federal Archives! If you want to view documents from the Archives, you should search for them online and order them before visiting:

 

State Archive of Berne

For more than 250 years until 1798, Berne was the biggest territorial state north of the Alps. That size and power are reflected in documents, maps and plans which have survived through careful conservation and favourable circumstances. From precious mediæval documents until the capitulation to the French revolutionary army in 1798, from the two Helvetian cantons of Berne and the Oberland which existed between 1798 and 1803, via the ...

 

Archives of the City of Bern

The oldest manuscript dates from 1146. Legend has it that the City of Bern did not even exist at that time. From those legendary days until the present, all the significant documents of the municipal administration have been preserved in the Archives of the City of Bern. They include printed material, maps, plans, illustrations and photographs. The Archives of the City of Bern were created in 1803 when the Canton and City were legally ...

 

Rathaus Bern

The Rathaus (Town Hall) is the political centre for the Canton and City of Bern. This is where the Cantonal Parliament holds its sessions four times a year and where the Cantonal Government meets each week. The Rathaus is also where the City of Bern’s parliament convenes.
The building is over 600 years old and ...

 

Central Library

Dairy produce was once sold on the ground floor, and wine stored in the cellars. But between 1787 and 1794, the first floor of the Ankenwaag-Kornhaus was transformed into a magnificent library hall by the architects Niklaus Sprüngli and Lorenz Schmid. Thus Switzerland's first non-ecclesiastical library building was erected on Bern's Münstergasse. Over the next two hundred years the premises were extended and adapted several times to ...

Close

Archive / Bibliotheken

 

Schweizerische Nationalbibliothek

Jedes Buch, jede Zeitung, jede Zeitschrift, die seit 1848 in der Schweiz erschienen sind. Alles, was im Ausland über Schweizer Themen oder Personen veröffentlicht wird. Alle Werke von Schweizer Verfasserinnen und Verfassern, Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzern. Die Nationalbibliothek sammelt die gedruckten und elektronische Publikationen von und über die Schweiz und sorgt dafür, dass sie erhalten und zugänglich bleiben.

Teil der ...

 

Schweizerisches Bundesarchiv

Sie suchen Dokumente zur Expo 02, zur Helvetischen Republik oder über die Wahl von General Guisan im Jahre 1939? Dann sind Sie im Bundesarchiv richtig! Damit Sie Dokumente des Archivs ansehen können, sollten Sie diese vor Ihrem Besuch online recherchieren und bestellen: www.swiss-archives.ch.

Das Schweizerische Bundesarchiv bewahrt die Unterlagen der politischen Organe des Bundesstaats ...

 

Staatsarchiv des Kantons Bern

Bern war bis 1798 während mehr als 250 Jahren der grösste Stadtstaat nördlich der Alpen. Solche Grösse und Macht schlagen sich auch in Dokumenten, Karten und Plänen nieder, die dank Umsicht und günstigen Umständen bis heute bewahrt blieben. Von den wertvollen mittelalterlichen Urkunden bis zur Kapitulation vor der französischen Revolutionsarmee 1798, von den beiden zwischen 1798 und 1803 existierenden Helvetik-Kantonen Bern und ...

 

Stadtarchiv Bern

Aus dem Jahr 1146 stammt die älteste Urkunde. Der Legende nach war zu diesem Zeitpunkt die Stadt Bern noch gar nicht gegründet. Von jenen legendären Zeiten bis heute bewahrt das Stadtarchiv Bern alle wichtigen Dokumente der Stadtverwaltung, die von Bedeutung sind. Dazu gehören auch Druckschriften, Karten, Pläne, Illustrationen und Fotografien. Entstanden ist das Stadtarchiv 1803, als der Kanton und die Stadt rechtlich getrennt wurden. ...

 

Universitätsbibliothek Bern

Im Erdgeschoss wurden Milchprodukte verkauft und im Keller lagerte Wein. Das erste Stockwerk des Ankenwaag-Kornhauses aber hatten Niklaus Sprüngli und Lorenz Schmid 1787 bis 1794 zu einem Prunksaal für die Bibliothek umgebaut. An der Berner Münstergasse entstand so das erste nichtkirchliche Bibliotheksgebäude der Schweiz. In den folgenden 200 Jahren wurde der Bau mehrmals für Studierende, Forschende, Wissensdurstige erweitert und ...

 

Burgerbibliothek

Die illustrierte spätmittelalterliche Geschichtschronik von Diebold Schilling, die Nachlässe von Albrecht von Haller, des Schriftstellers Jeremias Gotthelf und des Kinderbuchautors Ernst Kreidolf allein machen die Burgerbibliothek zur einzig-artigen Schatzkammer bernischer Geschichte und Kultur. Dazu gehören auch die rund 30 000 Berner Bilddokumente sowie private Nachlässe und Familienarchive. Hinzu kommen viele weitere international ...